Uncategorized

January 2020 Monthly Color Challenge

We’re kicking off 2020 with a colorful quilt along! Jen of Patterns by Jen has designed a beautiful Monthly Color Challenge to last the full year. I’ve completed the January block with some cheerful yellow polka dots from my stash.

Piecing Tip: I find it easiest to use the larger square piece as my guide for getting accurate placement. Since the large square is one piece of fabric (with no seams), it has the exact measurements that are needed. I can use it to align and center my four-square patch and sew ¼” seams using the larger square as the reference for the edge. (See picture below)

I found it very helpful to lay out all the pieces for this block first so that I could keep them in order. It’s so easy to get things turned around and I’d really like my first block of the New Year to be accomplished without using my seam ripper (spoiler alert… mission accomplished) 😊

January 2020 Monthly Color Challenge

Give a visit & hello to the other January bloggers:

Join in each month for the free block pattern from Patterns By Jen. And please join me on my quilting adventures on Instagram and facebook.

A great big thank you to the sponsors for our January, February & March months! (details for how to enter are on Jen’s blog)

4 thoughts on “January 2020 Monthly Color Challenge”

Leave a comment